Rory McIlroy bags third European Tour Golfer of the Year award in four seasons

first_img Press Association The Northern Irishman won three times this year, including the DP World Tour Championship in Dubai last month to successfully defend his Race to Dubai crown – an honour he also claimed for a third time since 2012. McIlroy became only the seventh player in European Tour history to be crowned European number one in consecutive campaigns. “It is a huge honour for me to be named European Tour Golfer of the Year again,” said McIlroy, who missed five weeks of the summer with an ankle injury sustained playing football. “I feel very proud to have won this prestigious award for the third time – it is always special, no matter how often, to be recognised this way. “After a good first half to the season, the injury was obviously a setback for me, so to finish the year strongly with my second victory in Dubai – plus picking up The Race to Dubai title again – was very satisfying. “This was an objective I successfully fulfilled this season. To now win the Golfer of the Year award, too, is a great way to sign off the year. “I am already looking forward to starting the new season and trying to achieve even more in 2016.” McIlroy’s two other European Tour victories came at the Omega Dubai Desert Classic and the WGC-Cadillac Match Play. center_img World number three Rory McIlroy’s domination of the European Tour Golfer of the Year Award has continued with a third triumph in four seasons. last_img