Zaheer Khan, RP Singh to play in second season of T10 League

first_imgFormer India pacemen Zaheer Khan and RP Singh have signed up to play in the second edition of the T10 League starting November 21.The duo will be joined by six more Indians including recently retired Praveen Kumar, RS Sodhi, Subramaniam Badrinath.”I am happy to announce that we have signed up eight Indian players to play in the second season of the tournament. This will encourage players from all over the world to join the T10 League movement and help popularize the 10-over format cricket worldwide in the coming years,” Shaji Ul Mulk, the chairman of the T10 league said.One of India’s most successful fast bowlers, Zaheer spearheaded the country’s pace attack for many years including at the 2011 World Cup and has over 600 international wickets across all formats.RP Singh, another left-arm pacer who announced his retirement from all forms of cricket last month, was a part of the Indian team that won the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup in South Africa where he emerged as second-highest wicket-taker in the competition.Badrinath is regarded as one of the most successful first-class cricketers.Earlier, Virender Sehwag was named the T10 Cricket League icon along with Shahid Afridi.Besides appointing Sehwag and Afridi as the league icons, former Pakistan cricket legend Wasim Akram has been entrusted the task of global talent hunt as Director of Talent Hunt Programme.Eight teams — Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons — have been drawn in to two groups to fight it out in the second Season of T10 League. The event takes place at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 21 to December 2.advertisementThis year the Karachians and Northern Warriors have been added to the list of the earlier six teams.(With inputs from PTI)last_img