ICC Cricket World Cup winners list from 1975 to 2015

first_imgThe World Cup 2019 is near its end with the final to be contested between hosts England and New Zealand at Lord’s on July 14. While New Zealand beat pre-tournament favourites India in a thrilling semi-final on Wednesday, England crushed defending champions Australia by 8 wickets in the 2nd semi-final to ensure there will be a new World Cup champion this year.The ongoing tournament is the 12th edition of the World Cup but only 5 teams have won the trophy till date. Australia have been the most successful team with a record 5 titles while West Indies and India have won it twice each. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the other two teams to have had the fortune of winning the sport’s biggest prize.Here is the year-wise list of World Cup winners:1975 – West Indies1979 – West Indies1983 – India1987 – Australia1992 – Pakistan1996 – Sri Lanka1999 – Australia2003 – Australia2007 – Australia2011 – India2015 – AustraliaEngland, New Zealand and South Africa are the only top-ranked teams to have not won the trophy even once but that is about to change on Sunday. Though not for South Africa, who find themselves out of contention yet again after promising so much before the tournament started.England are in their 4th final, having ended runner-ups on the previous 3 occasions – 1979, 1987 and 1992 but for New Zealand, this will be only their 2nd World Cup final appearance after making it to the summit clash 4 years ago in Australia.Also Read | The contradictions and chaos that shattered India’s World Cup dreamAlso Read | Cricket World Cup final clashes with Wimbledon final: Why this defies common senseadvertisementlast_img